Sabah State Railway Department (JKNS) (2020) formerly known as North Borneo Railway | East Malaysia Sabah Kota Kinabalu Train Information, Sabah Train Schedule, Sabah Train Tickets, Sabah Train Booking, North Borneo Railway | Tanjung Aru, Putatan, Kinarut, Papar, Kimanis, Bongawan, Beaufort, Saliwangan Baru, Halogilat, Tenom

JKNS CNR Push Pull Train Tanjung Aru 01

The Sabah State Railway Department or Jabatan Keretapi Negeri Sabah (JKNS), formerly known as North Borneo Railway, is the only railway in East Malaysia, and runs from the capital of Kota Kinabalu to Beaufort and Tenom. Though it is a single, through line, trains operate along the line in three sections, namely Sembulan – Beaufort, Beaufort – Halogilat and Halogilat – Tenom. Through ticketing is adopted throughout the network regardless of train changes and connecting times.

Please note that due to a severe lack of information regarding the Sabah State Railway, both online and offline, do take the information here with a pinch of salt as things may change suddenly with almost no prior notice, especially with regards to train cancellations and whether the train actually originates from and/or terminates at Sembulan station. I have, however, already done my best to compile and source for the most current and accurate information.

Route Map

JKNS Route Map Linear 20190907 001 Watermarked.png


Sabah State Railway Timetable 20171205

Timetable from Sabah State Railway (JKNS)’s website

Click here.



Fares from Sabah State Railway (JKNS)’s website

Click here.

Journey Experiences

Booking Methods

  • Sabah State Railway (JKNS) ticket counters only

How do I book tickets online?

You cannot book Sabah State Railway (JKNS) tickets online.

To contact the Sabah State Railway (JKNS):

Official Website

Call Center
Phone: +6088-254611





  1. Train from Tanjong Aru to Tenom is rediculous with a 3 hr wait in Beaufort .
    That means no day trip possible. What ashame you can’t get your timetables working together . Big off put for tourists.
    So typical of the lack of forethought.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.